• Home
  • Beauty
  • People
  • Fashion
  • Lifestyle
  • Living
  • Art
  • Travel
  • Sports
  • Technology
  • Finance
  • Motor
  • Business
  • Politics
  • Interviews
  • Videonews
  • Underdog Squads US And Japan Face Each Other In Women’s World Cup Championship

    15. July 2011


    The Japanese Women's Football team hopes to pull an upset against the favored American Women's Football team in the championship of the Women's World Cup in Germany on Sunday. (Photo: fifa.com)

    Two teams not expected to clash in the Finals have defied the odds and will be fighting each other toe to toe in the championship round of the ongoing Women’s World Cup of Soccer in Germany this year.

    The United Sates Women’s Football squad will battle it out against Japan Women’s Football team in the Women’s World Cup Championship on Sunday. The US squad booked a slot in the Finals after demolishing France in the semifinals 3-1 while Japan got its championship ticket after beating two-time champion and host Germany in the semifinals 3-1.

    The US and Japan championship is expected to be a thrilling and hard fought match as the two teams are very determined to win the Women’s World Cup championship crown this year. Having won the title in 1991 and 1999, the US squad is the slight favorite against Japan in their game.

    To topple the Japanese and bring home the championship bacon on US soil, goalkeeper Hope Solo need to continue her brilliant defensive play and not allow Japan to score big in their match. If Solo can havse an A-game for his team on game-time there is a huge chance the US will win the tournament.

    Japan although the clear underdog in this game still has a good chance of pulling an upset against the US. To bring down the powerhouse US squad, Japan team captain Homare Sawa need to score big for her team. Japan also need to find ways to score against Solo and the US team.

    The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international association football competition contested by the senior women’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1991.

    The current format of the tournament involves 16 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation over a period of about three weeks;this phase is often called the World Cup Finals. A qualification phase, which currently takes place over the preceding three years, is used to determine which teams qualify for the tournament together with the host nation.

    The FIFA Women’s World Cup is recognized as the most important International competition in women’s football and is played among women’s national football teams of the member states of FIFA, the sport’s global governing body. The first Women’s World Cup tournament, named the Women’s World Championship, was held in 1991, sixty-one years after the men’s first FIFA World Cup tournament in 1930. The 6 World Cup tournaments have been won by three different national teams. The next World Cup will be hosted by Canada in 2015.


    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
    Underdog Squads US And Japan Face Each Other In Women's World Cup Championship , 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating


    Published in Sports, Top News & Article

    , , , , , , , , , ,

    « »

    Online Magazine Concept & Realisation Ortwin Oberhauser